The Hlinka Gretzky Cup is an annual invitation-only tournament held each August, that is the only best-on-best competition at the U18 level, the Hlinka Gretzky Cup serves as the first opportunity for fans and scouts to see that year’s NHL Draft prospects, almost a full year before the draft takes place.

Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team has long been the dominant force in summer U18 hockey, laying claim to 24 of the 32 gold medals awarded since 1991, including runs of seven (1996-2002) and eight (2008-15) consecutive golds.


2023 Hlinka Gretzky Cup
Spence scored the GWG in OT as Canada won another summer gold.

Six unanswered goals sent Canada to a spot in the gold medal game. 

Catton scored twice as Canada finished atop Group B.

Ritchie finished with a hat trick to lead Canada to its first win.

Catton finished with 1G 2A, but Canada fell to Finland.
Spence finished with 2A to lead Canada to an exhibition victory.

Lindstrom finished with 2G 2A to lead Canada to a win.

2024 WPHC: CAN 2 – USA 1 (Gold Medal)
Kingsmill was sensational, backstopping Canada to a world title.
2024 WPHC: CAN 2 – CHN 1 (Semifinal)
Kovacevich and Cozzolino scored to send Canada to play for gold.
2024 WPHC: CAN 5 – CZE 1 (Preliminary)
Dunn and McGregor had 2G each as Canada capped a perfect prelims.